What's at the fair

A large show tent with people enjoying the sunshine in the foregroundLocal food, farm produce, arts and crafts, rural craftsmen and women, trade stands, Hatwell's Fun Fair...

Typical activities at the Fair each year include displays by the Wychwood Project, the Wychwood Barn Owl and Flora groups, and many other local conservation and community groups. A wide range of rural crafts, some of which allow you to ‘have a go’, are on display. The Wychwood Project second-hand book stall is a must for book-lovers.

As well as an arts and crafts tent, there is a children’s Fun Fair, local Morris dancing sides and other entertainers. There are plenty of local food suppliers and farm produce, lots of refreshments, locally produced ice cream and - last but not least - a beer tent selling beer from the local Wychwood Brewery, based in Witney.

 

Rural skills

Each year the modern Fair, which tries to avoid much of the commercialisation of so many modern country shows, has emphasised a different theme, such as local environmental activities, revived rural skills and locally produced food.

2016 demonstrators and stallholders:

A Country View - Country and equestrian inspired gifts www.acountryview.co.uk

Abingdon & Witney College - College of further education; promoting courses, demonstrations & small animals  www.abingdon-witney.ac.uk

Aleksandra Sopilnik - Savoury and sweet crepes  www.oxfordcrepes.co.uk

Andrew Deller Drystone walling 

Anne Saunders - Handmade shoulder bags, vinyl shoppers and accessories  
Aquarius Designs Jewellery - Handmade jewellery and accessories www.aquariusdesignsjewellery.com

Berks, Bucks and Oxon Wildlife Trust (BBOWT) Information  www.bbowt.org.uk

Bijoux Ladies Accessories - Scarves and leather handbags & clothes  n/a
Bob Field Pole-lathe turning and green woodworking n/a
Breckon & Breckon  Coconut shy  (event sponsors) www.breckon.co.uk

Campaign for Real Events - Demonstrating DIY renewable energy and recycling www.c-realevents.co.uk
Capture Images - Portrait photography sessions and vouchers captureimages.co.uk
Caroline Borgman Interiors - Interior design and home-ware www.carolineborgman.co.uk
Charlbury Green Hub - Promoting a better understanding of our local countryside, food, energy, travel, and the wider implications for our planet's limited resources and climate change www.charlburygreenhub.org.uk

Charlbury Society - Information about the Society and the Museum  n/a
Charlbury Street Fair   www.charlburystreetfair.org

Chillies 2 u - Selection boxes of unusual chillies www.chillies2u.co.uk

Christine Pettet Art - Animal portraits and mixed media artwork www.facebook.com/christinepettetart

Christopher Fenner Educational Fund - Conservation through Education in Zambia www.chrisfennerfund.org

Clock Workshop - Clock and watch repair and restoration www.clockworkshop.co.uk

Cogges Heritage Trust  - Interactive craft stall and information on Witney's historical farmstead http://www.cogges.org.uk

Colour Boutique - Ladies accessories,  handbags, hats, gloves, purses, scarves  www.mycolourboutique.co.uk

Combe Mill Society - Display with working models  www.combemill.org

Cotswold Frames - Picture framing, Gallery and gifts www.cotswoldframes.co.uk
Cotswold Textiles - Creative woolsmith n/a
Cotswold Vintage Scoop - Ice Cream, Ice Lollies, cold drinks, gluten free cones www.cotswoldvintagescoop.co.uk

Cotswolds Conservation Board - Information on the Cotswolds AONB, Voluntary Wardens and Cotswold Conservation Board  www.cotswoldaonb.org.uk
Dave  Rolstone - Handmade pens from the woodlathe  n/a
Designer Jewellery by Sandy Ebdon-Jackson - Handcrafted jewellery www.sejdesigns.co.uk
Do Little Dumplings - Handmade children's clothes, toys and  accessories. www.little-dumplings.co.uk

Edward Marsh - Bowl and plate turning on pole lathe n/a
Fairspear Natural Burial Ground - Information on Natural Burials  www.naturalburialoxfordshire.co.uk

Forever Living Products - Natural aloe vera and beehive products 
Foxcotte Fencing     www.wonderwoodwillow.com
Friends of the Oxfordshire Museum - Display and information  www.friendsoftom.co.uk

Hants & Berks Ferret Club - Ferret racing and display www.hbferretclub.co.uk

Hatwell's Fun Fair - All the fun of the fair 
Helen Matthews Glass - Handmade fused glass jewellery, light-catchers, pictures and gifts www.helenmatthewsglass.com

Heritage Fruit Tree Co - Locally grafted and grown heritage fruit trees www.heritagefruittrees.com

Hettie - Handmade cushions, upcycled furniture, women's accessories, pet accessories  www.hettie.co.uk

Hop Art - Original framed watercolour paintings, handmade cards and mounted prints www.hop-art.co.uk

Hops & Vines - Apple pressing and cider-making demonstration. Information on home brewing and winemaking  www.hpsvns.com

Jag Timber - Tree and woodland management and woodfuel. www.jagtimber.co.uk www.jagtrees.co.uk
Julian Hight - Author of World Tree Story history and legends of the world's ancient trees www.worldtreestory.co.uk

Ken Mills Pottery 
Kench Butchers Pig roast
Leafield Woodlands Ltd. - Information on Leafield's Community Woodland  www.leafieldwoodlands.co.uk

Leslie Cooper - Wood turned items
Logmatic - Wood and log splitting tools www.logmatic.co.uk

Lovington's Ice cream 
Lynda Wyles - Unusual sewn gifts 
Mark Serle Restorations  - 2nd hand woodworking engineering & gardening tools 
Martha's Garden - Natural Skincare & mini spa treatments for hands & feet  www.marthasgarden.co.uk

Mick Curran Woodturner - Wood turned bowls, platters, vases 
Mira Crafts - Handmade cards and notelets, wooden decorations, preserves  
Morris Dancers  n/a
Muck and Brass Jewellery - Unique handmade jewellery, using  bio-resin, sterling silver, real botanicals, fossils, concrete and tea leaves  www.muckandbrassjewellery.com

NFU Mutual - Financial and insurance experts - sponsors of the Rural Craft area www.nfumutual.co.uk

Nicholsons  - Forestry, fencing and tree surgery www.nicholsons.gb.com

Nix Bits - Jewellery and Crafts Handmade jewellery, knitted, crocheted and sewn accessories and gifts www.nixbits.co.uk

Open Air Foods - Brick chicken and salads / children's food  openairfoods.com
Oxford Field Paths Society - Walking group display and information www.ofs.org.uk

Oxford Guild of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers - Weaving and natural dyes www.oxfordwsd.org.uk

Oxford Pottery Studio - Handmade pottery and cards   n/a
Oxfordshire  Mammal Group - Information and display of natural artefacts. Children's craft activities www.oxonmamals.org

Oxfordshire Badger Group - Display on the welfare of badgers  www.oxonbadgergroup.org.uk

Oxfordshire County Council Emergency Planning Unit - Promoting community resilience 
Oxfordshire Federation of Women's Institutes (OFWI) - Voluntary organisation for women www.oxfordshirefedwi.co.uk

Oxfordshire Geology Trust - Rocks and fossils from Oxfordshire. Children's activities - Lucky Dip, Find a Foossil in the sandpits  www.oxfordshiregeologytrust.org.uk

Oxfordshire Master Composters - Promoting home composting and Love Food Hate Waste
 www.recycleforoxfordshire.org.uk

Oxfordshire Pizza - Company Freshly cooked pizza and soft drinks www.theoxfordshirepizzacompany.com

Palace Cuisine Ltd - Family run bakery www.palacecuisine.co.uk

Patricia Mather - Original paintings, cards and beads www.pmather.co.uk
Perfect Puppies - Puppy & dog training/behaviour. Dog products n/a
Peter & Carol Groom - Bird tables, nest boxes, feeders and welly pullers   n/a
Phoenix Trading - Cards, stationery and gift wrap www.sandiescards.co.uk

Pipework Clarinet quartet  
Porch Preserves - Artisan jams, chutneys and marmalade made by The Porch Steppin' Stones Centre www.theporch.org.uk

Pot of What  - Handmade preserves  www.potofwhat.co.uk

Pretty Pieces - Ladies scarves, bags and jewellery www.prettypieces.webstarts.com

Riverford Organics - Organic veg and meat boxes www.riverford.co.uk

Rotary Club of Witney - Promoting the work of Shelterbox www.shelterbox.org

Rotary Club of Witney - BBQ - hamburgers 
Rotary Club of Witney - Pig Roast  
Royal Microscopical Society - Display and information, furthering the science of microscopy www.rms.org.uk

Rustic Ash Chairs - Bespoke strong, functional, comfortable chairs www.Rustic-ash.co.uk

Sarah Watts - Handmade stained glass gifts Handmade stained glass gifts 
Shaken Oak Products - Mustards and Preserves www.shakenoak.co.uk

Sinfully Sweet of Didcot - Confectionery  www.sinfullysweet.co.uk

Small Creations - Quilled cards and woodcraft toys 
Smythy Silver Art - Silver and beaded jewellery; most made from sterling silver cutlery  
South Central Ambulance Services       First Aid & volunteer recruitment  
Spooncarving Spooncarving www.spooncarving.org.uk

SPR Expeditions Ltd - Walking tours, Expeditions, Photos www.spr-expeditions.co.uk

SSAFA The Armed Forces Charity www.ssafa.org.uk

Stonesfield Soap Company - Luxury natural artisan soap and aromatherapy skincare products. www.stonesfieldsoap.com

Styan Family Produce Fruit and vegetables www.styanfamilyproduce.co.uk

Sufispice Punjab curries and finger food, including vegetarian, vegan and gluten free  www.sufispice.com

Sunshine Cat Rescue & Advice Line Charity stall & tombola www.sunshinecatrescue.org.uk

Thames Valley Environmental Records Centre  - Environmental information www.tverc.org

The Arty Crafty Place Ltd - Various arts and crafts items www.theartycraftyplace.co.uk

The Crafty Fox - Hand sewn cushions, aprons, bags, stools and children's knits  n/a
The Little Goat Soap Company Ltd and  Cotswold Pens Handmade - Goats Milk Beauty Products and High Quality Wood turned Pens www.thelittlegoatsoapcompany.co.uk

The Lower Windrush Valley Project Project information  www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/cms/public-site/lower-windrush-valley-project

The Organ Grinder   
The Oxford Cheese Co - Cheeses, Chutney, Oxford Sauce, biscuits, vegan cakes www.oxfordfinefood.com

Touchwood Crafts Ltd - Bespoke artisan furniture, gifts and household items www.touchwoodcrafts.co.uk

Treetech Aboricultural Services Ltd  - Aboricultural Services offering advice on all aspects of tree care. www.treetech.co.uk

UK Coffee Roasters Ltd - Hot coffee. Artisan wood roasted coffees and loose leaf teas.  www.uecoffeeroasters.com

Varsity Coffee - A selection of flavoured Arabica and traditional roasted coffee beans. www.varsitycoffee.co.uk
West Oxfordshire Field Club - Conservation information  www.thefieldclub.org.uk

Wild Berries - Handmade preserves & gift sets 
Wilderness Pioneers - Bushcraft skills www.wildernesspioneers.co.uk

Willow and Wire  - Willow sculpture 
Windrush Bowmen - Have a go at target archery www.windrushbowmen.org.uk

Witney & District Museum Information stand  www.witneyhistory.org
Witney Air Training Corps   
Witney Bees www.obka.org

Witney Photo Group  Photographic exhibition  
Witney Woodland Volunteers - Environmental volunteering www.witneywood.org.uk

Woodcraft Witney Wooden products n/a
Wychwood Forest Church Display and information; faith and the natural world  www.wychwoodforestchurch.org.uk

Wychwood Project Bar  

Wychwood Project Tea Tent
Wychwood Project Bookstall  

Wychwood Project groups and information